UPDATE: In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Polar Music Prize has released the following statement:
“This year’s Polar Music Prize ceremony is postponed due to the ongoing Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Originally planned for June 9, 2020, the Polar Music Prize award ceremony and banquet will now take place on Saturday May 22, 2021 in Stockholm.”

On February 11, it was announced that Anna Netrebko has been named a Laureate for the prestigious Polar Music Prize. Founded in 1989, The Polar Music Prize celebrates the power and importance of music and is awarded to individuals, groups or institutions for international recognition of excellence in the world of music.

Each year, two laureates are named: one from the popular and classical music industries, respectively. Anna receives this honor alongside American songwriter Diane Warren, who has written for many top artists including Celine Dion, Cher, and Beyonce. Past laureates include classical artists Anne-Sophie Mutter, Reneé Fleming, and Pierre Boulez and popular artists Sting, Pink Floyd, and Led Zeppelin.

The award will be presented in a ceremony at the Grand Hotel in Stockholm on June 9. Prior to this ceremony, Anna performs a recital in Stockholm at Konserthuset on June 8. Click here for tickets to the recital, here to read the full announcement, or watch the Polar Music Prize announcement below!

I'm so honored to join this prestigious community of musicians. Thank you.